1.3 Upate

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by JOPHESTUS, Jul 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

JOPHESTUS

Hello,

As some of you may know, I make plugins (like a lot of people), and because I am fairly new to making them, there's some things I'd like to know about major updates.
    When CB is updated to a new minecraft version, will it break plugins? Does it depend on what parts of the API they use?

Thanks,
    JOPH

2. Offline

MuisYa

It will most likely not break your plugins, since they will not change the API that they are using.
    Though some things may break, and if something will break the Bukkit team neatly announces that.

3. Offline

CorrieKay

Wut.

I beg to differ, theyve changed the api pretty heavily a FEW times :p

Unless we have confirmation from them (which, hey, we might, and i dont know about it), theres no guarentee they arent changing it.

Plus, with the... yknow, new api coming out (slated for 1.4) You never know. They might just change the api :D

ZeusAllMighty11 and LucasEmanuel like this.
  4. Offline

Ar7ific1al

The extent of my knowledge is that yes, plugins generally are broken when a new Bukkit version is released for a new Minecraft version. In the case of subversions (eg. 1.2.5, 1.2.4, 1.2.3, etc.), very little may change, it depends. And yes, it sometimes might depend on specifically what the plugin uses. Some of the things it uses might be completely deprecated, some of it might be changed slightly, some of it might be changed dramatically, and some of it might not be changed at all.

In the case of a new build of Bukkit for the same Minecraft version (eg. 1.2.5-R2.0, 1.2.5-R3.0, 1.2.5-R4.0, etc.) it may be as easy as just changing the external dependency from the former version (for example, 1.2.5-R1.0) to the new version (for example, 1.2.5-R4.0).

I'm no expert (far from it) when it comes to this sort of stuff, so... don't quote me on it. ;)

5. Offline

MuisYa