Teleport method

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by TheRoflcopter, Jun 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

TheRoflcopter

Hey everyone, I'm new to bukkit and I keep getting stuck at the really not complex stuff.

Code:java
    1. if (cmd.getName().equalsIgnoreCase("top")){
    2. Location currentLoc = p.getLocation();
    3. int highestY = currentLoc.getWorld().getHighestBlockYAt((int)currentLoc.getBlockX(),(int) currentLoc.getZ());
    4. Location tpLoc = new Location(w,currentLoc.getBlockX(),highestY,currentLoc.getBlockZ());
    5. p.teleport(tpLoc);
    7. }

I want player to get teleported to the highest block possible after executing the command /top. The problem is that i get teleported off-center. I read somewhere that i have to add 0.5 to both X and Y, but the teleport method is requiring int. If i would add the 0.5, i would get teleported to a whole new block.

2. Offline

FeroGB

TheRoflcopter I think this may help:
    .getBlockX() will get the X coordinate and will return everything before the decimal point. This means it can be used as a integer. To get the proper location you would need to do .getX() etc.

TheRoflcopter likes this.
  3. Offline

metalhedd

2. Location tpLoc = new Location(w,currentLoc.getBlockX(),highestY,currentLoc.getBlockZ());
    3. p.teleport(tpLoc);

the teleport method doesn't take any int parameters. it takes a Location. A Location has no such restrictions on whether it's values are integer or not. What ever gave you the impression you were limited to integers here?

2. Location tpLoc = new Location(w,currentLoc.getBlockX() + 0.5d, highestY, currentLoc.getBlockZ() + 0.5d);
    3. p.teleport(tpLoc);

done.

TheRoflcopter likes this.
  4. Offline

TheRoflcopter

This helped, thanks. My phrasing was wrong :< One more thing, tho. Whats the difference between doing "+0.5" and "0.5d"

5. Offline

metalhedd