Multiple use of the same thread...

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by JTGaming2012, Jul 14, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

JTGaming2012

Hey there! I have made this grenade in Bukkit, it has a crafting recipe and everything works fine. However, as soon as I throw two grenades at once, it explodes twice on the second thrown grenade instead of the first.

I understand the problem, I was expecting it, but now I am here, are there any suggestions you guys can give me? I am a bit of a beginner coder so I may need a few examples...

Thanks for your help! Here is all the code:
    (As I said before, it's all working fine!)

This is the class that listens to when a player throws a grenade.
    Code:java
    1. public class throwListener implements Listener {
    3. public static Item i;
    5. public static Item item() {
    6. return i;
    7. }
    9. @EventHandler
    10. public void playerThrow(PlayerDropItemEvent event) {
    11. if(event.getItemDrop().getItemStack().getItemMeta().getDisplayName().equalsIgnoreCase("§8Grenade")) {
    12. i = event.getItemDrop();
    13. Player p = event.getPlayer();
    14. Location l = i.getLocation();
    16. i.setVelocity(p.getLocation().getDirection().multiply(1.5));
    17. new Thread(new grenade()).start();
    18. }
    19. }
    20. }

Here is a thread that, after three seconds, triggers all the explosion stuff!
    1. public class grenade implements Runnable {
    3. @Override
    4. public void run() {
    5. try {
    6. Thread.sleep(3000);
    7. } catch (InterruptedException e) {
    8. e.printStackTrace();
    9. }
    11. Item i = throwListener.item();
    12. Location l = i.getLocation();
    13. TNTPrimed tnt = l.getWorld().spawn(l, TNTPrimed.class);
    14. tnt.setFuseTicks(1);
    15. }
    16. }

2. Offline

chasechocolate

Don't make new threads, just use a scheduler, such as a BukkitRunnable.

3. Offline

JTGaming2012