How to change item damage

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Puschie, Mar 19, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello,
    im new to plugin programming with java. After working on my first plugin, i need to change the damage of some items.
    So i think it should be work via "EntityDamageByEntityEvent", but i have some question.
    1. How can i check if that item is one of my items( ItemMeta ? )
    2. How do i handle the damage( has each item his own listener or casting ItemStack to my item class ? )
    3. Which priotity do i need for this ? it have to work on 100% of all attacks, so i think monitor ?

there is a list of little plugins which are open source to lern ?
    Thx for reading

2. Offline

Barinade

3. ????
    nice link,
    but what is with my questions ?

4. Offline

raGan.

As you say, you can set item meta and check it later, but it's not persistent through restarts. You can add little bit of lore to it that identifies it as yours.
    EntityDamageByEntityEvent happens when one entity is gamaged by another (e.g. Creeper->Player, Player->Creeper, Arrow->Zombie). I think there's no event that fires when item is damaged, you will need to check multiple events depending on what you want. If you do not want to modify event contents in any way, then MONITOR is for you. To get plugin sources just look into resources section for code snippets or browse dev.bukkit and look for github links. Some plugins also provide source inside the JAR file.

5. ok, but how can i get the damage value ?
    currently i have a Class Item, that extends ItemStack
    so if i identify that the hitting item is my, i should can cast it back into Item.
    But its fails
    All open source projects i found read every time the damage value new, and that is crape...
    also use all projects only the basics items, not own items

6. Offline

raGan.