How to add an item as a fuel?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by boredherobrine13, Apr 24, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi so I'm making a simple plugin that will add things as fuel in Minecraft. Note that it is not one with a config where you specify the item(s) you want to be a fuel. I just want to add certain items as fuels, for example: a bow. So my question is how in code would I specify the item I want to add, and then its burn time. I'm very new to plugin coding and need to know how to do this :) Any help is appreciated.

2. Offline

Koobaczech

Hey bud. Here would be 2 ways to go about it that i just thought about. Say your bow consumes string to work
    1. In the plugin, compare the fuel item with the Material Type(Material.STRING), or the Type Id(287)
    2. When your action requires fuel, if the string is in your inventory etc etc, consume it in quantities(basically remove it piece by piece or all at once)
    3. Make a delayed task that triggers a STOP on the working item. This means that if the delayed task runs, you are out of fuel and whatever you are doing will stop working. In the delayed task make it set a boolean such as BowWork to FALSE
    4. However many string you consume as fuel at that time, multiply the delayed task by that amount
    So if your furnace/car/jetpack/bow/whatever requires a string as fuel, and you have a string in your inv, consume it, set a boolean to TRUE so your thing works, and delay a task by the string burn time*20L and that will give you stringburntime seconds of burn time. When the delayed task finally runs, the boolean will then be FALSE and you need more fuel